"In the Beginning, all America was Virginia."
William Byrd II
Next event
Featured Promotion

Experience the nation’s most popular toys and their stories through three imagined living rooms that bring the decades back to life.

Toys of the ‘50s, ‘60s and ‘70s

District Contests

DISTRICT ONE

Amherst, Bedford, Campbell, Appomattox, Buckingham, Prince Edward, Cumberland, Powhatan, Lynchburg

Coordinator: R. Matthew Poteat, Assistant Professor of History
Central Virginia Community College
Lynchburg, VA 24502
Phone: (434) 832-7822
E-mail: poteatr@cvcc.vccs.edu

DISTRICT TWO

Lee, Scott, Wise, Dickenson, Russell, Washington, Buchanan, Tazewell, Smyth, Grayson, Wythe, Bland, Bristol, Norton

Coordinator: Thomas J. Little, Professor of History                
Emory & Henry College
Emory, VA 24327  
Phone: (276) 944-6205 
E-mail:  tjlittle@ehc.edu

DISTRICT THREE

Giles, Pulaski, Carroll, Patrick, Henry, Galax, Pittsylvania, Franklin, Montgomery, Roanoke, Craig, Allegheny, Botetourt, Rockbridge, Floyd, Buena Vista, Covington, Danville, Salem, Lexington, Martinsville, Radford, Roanoke City

Coordinators: Ann Roberts & Kristan Morrison, Associate Professors                  
Radford University
Radford, VA 24142
Phone: (540) 831-7119 & (540) 831-7120
E-mail: aroberts@radford.edu and kmorrison12@radford.edu 

DISTRICT FOUR

Bath, Highland, Augusta, Nelson, Albemarle, Greene, Rockingham, Page, Shenandoah, Madison, Orange, Rappahannock, Culpepper, Frederick, Clarke, Warren, Charlottesville, Harrisonburg, Staunton, Waynesboro, Winchester

Coordinator: Lora Cooper, Project Assistant in Education and Visitor Programs
Thomas Jefferson's Monticello
Charlottesville, VA 22902
Phone: (434) 984-9800
E-mail: ljcooper@monticello.org

DISTRICT FIVE

Arlington, Loudoun, Fairfax, Prince William, Fauquier, Westmoreland, Stafford, Spotsylvania, King George, Caroline, Northumberland, Richmond (County), Lancaster, Alexandria, Falls Church, Fredericksburg, Manassas, Manassas Park

Coordinator: Michele Longo (Registration), Curator of Education
Gadsby's Tavern Museum & Stabler-Leadbeater Apothecary Museum
Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone: (703) 746-4739
E-mail: Michele.longo@alexandriava.gov

DISTRICT SIX

Accomack, Chesapeake, Franklin, Hampton, York, Middlesex, Newport News, Norfolk, Northampton, Poquoson, Portsmouth, Isle of Wright, Southampton, Suffolk, Surry, Sussex, Virginia Beach, Williamsburg

Coordinator: Aaron Wolfe, Educational Consultant
Phone: (757) 254-7829
E-mail: aaron.wolfe27@gmail.com

DISTRICT SEVEN

Brunswick, Charlotte, Greensville, Halifax, Lunenburg, Mecklenburg, Nottoway, South Boston

Coordinator: If you are interested in serving as District Seven Coordinator, please contact State Coordinator Bill Obrochta at wobrochta@vahistorical.org.

DISTRICT EIGHT

Amelia, Charles City, Chesterfield, Colonial Heights, Dinwiddie, Essex, Fluvanna, Gloucester, Goochland, Hanover, Henrico, Hopewell, King and Queen, King William, Louisa, Mathews, New Kent, Petersburg, Prince George, Richmond City.

Coordinator: Rob Roby, History Teacher, Huguenot High School
Richmond, VA
Phone: (804) 778-4707 or (804) 252-7253
E-mail: rroby@rvaschools.net

Christine Grodek

Christine Grodek, Virginia History Day Coordinator

For more information on Virginia History Day, contact Christine Grodek at 804.342.9672 or cgrodek@vahistorical.org. You can also follow Virginia History Day on Facebook and Twitter.